Write Now II

Good Morning, Friends.

Each Tuesday, or perhaps a day or two sooner or later, I am going to post here prompts and encouragement for you to write about you.  I will have a few questions you may wish to consider and possibly even write the answer in a notebook or journal. I promise not to go over a thousand words or be even as lengthy as in Write Now I, the original post in the series from last week (August 1).

I won’t promise not to post random photos of grandchildren from time to time.

http://www.positivewriter.com is a place you may want to check out. This week’s post is:     How I Wrote My First Book.

The next set of prompts are listed below and may stimulate a few memories.  Think of  a story you want to tell and start writing or dictating into your phone or computer and let the app translate into the written word  for you. Tell the story as if I am sitting in the room or across the table and am hearing this for the first time.

Write Now II:

Remember this is not a facebook quiz. This is not a school assignment.  You can be as candid as you wish and choose whatever prompt or prompts that interest you.  Keep in a computer folder or notebook for you or family members to read. Or make an oral history. There are no rules.  If you do not wish to write, consider using some of these questions when family or friends gather.  I fear we are losing one-on-one conversation and because of that, we also lose histories of our families and of our culture.

 

  • Describe your first car.

 

  • Were you excited or scared to begin school as a child?

 

  • What are your thoughts about an afterlife?

 

  • What was your favorite candy bar as a child and why?

 

  • What do you remember about the oldest relative(s) you had as a child?

 

  • What holiday traditions, if any, do you still observe or which ones did you carry over from childhood into adulthood?

 

  • If you served in the military, was it voluntary or were you drafted? Or if you were a wife, girlfriend, sister, brother, or mother of someone serving, what were your thoughts the day of reporting?

 

  • What are your thoughts regarding the wisdom or benefit, if any, to military engagement/service, especially at the time of your involvement?

 

  • What is something unique about you that almost nobody knows?

 

  • Was there something you wanted as a young child you didn’t receive?

 

  • What was the biggest surprise gift you remember?

 

  • Did you have pets as a child?

 

  • Write a note to your 12-year-old self with advice from your adult self?

 

  • What was the first song you learned? Consider making a playlist of the songs of your life.

 

  • What was your favorite decade and why? Who were the people in your life at the time? What else made the time period outstanding?

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Write Now II

  1. dremadrudge says:

    Such encouraging, helpful posts for writers. What original prompts! Thanks for sharing, Bonnie.

  2. Thank you so much, Drema.

  3. TOM PAYNE says:

    Bonnie, I am writing too ! I appreciate your posts, especially the prompts. How nice of you to mentor we who want to write better. “Write like telling a story”, a simple but elusive tip for me. It’s easier when I write like i talk. In the past my ability to express myself has stumbled over my constant need to hit vocabulary “out of the park”. Thank you Bonnie. Tom Payne

    • Thanks, Tom, for the kind words. “It’s easier when I write like I talk” is exactly what I mean by “write like you are telling a story.” In other words, you’ve already got this. Just put down the words. I hope you enjoy the journey. The next post, I am compiling a number of sentences or phrases to use as the first line if it prompts a memory or you interest. (e.g. If I had known it would turn out that way, I would’ve….). The fun thing is that a writer gets to be as creative or as factual as he or she would like to be. A prompt like this could possibly wind up being about a time someone fell out of a tree. “I’d I had known how easy it was to land on the ground, I would have climbed higher in the tree.” Or, “Had I known it would’ve turned out that way, I wouldn’t have climbed so high. That way, I wouldn’t have had so far to fall.” Since none of these are assigned, you can read and think about the phrases or sentences to see what experiences or memories it sparks and then modify the prompt to fit the experience you’re writing about. Write it like you talk. Sometimes, when reading, I like the random unknown vocabulary word that sends me to dictionary.com. A fellow writer friend of mine who I call a folksy writer in the best way aims to write in such a way that “any drunk wandering in off the street can understand it.” You get to be the one to choose. You can do whatever you want.

Leave a Reply

